Mix-and-Match Table Settings

6 Nov

My favorite pieces of china happen to look great together

I definitely tend towards a more eclectic feel in my decorating and my tabletop is no exception.  I love the whimsy of a mix-and-match table setting – not only is it a feast for the eyes and a happy way to enjoy a meal, but the use of pattern diverts the eye from any spills or splatter on the table.  Here I used my favorite teacups, a vintage set found at an antique store, and various patterned and printed place from my favorite home store – TJ Maxx!  The napkins are pretty and hide stains after wiping your mouth.  While it’s a work in progress, I hope to collect enough trinkets to have fabulous settings like the master, Tony Duquette (image below)!

I placed little hand-written notes into the bowls, plates and cups in my setting so that guests can get a hint of what’s to come.

I think I am going to stock up on the books pictured in the collage above for even more inspiration!  Would you try a mix-and-match table setting?

Yours-

The Domestic Diva in Training

Leave a Reply

