2-step Chicken and Dumplings a la Crock Pot

9 Nov

Rocco DiSpirito recently tweeted “Daylight savings time = time to slow cook. What are you making tonight?”

To my delight, he re-Tweeted my response:

Oh la la!  I couldn’t believe my eyes!  So I figured I surely should share my recipe and trust me – it’s the perfect meal for a cold day no matter where you are.

You’ll Need:

  • 4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
  • 2 tbsp. of butter
  • 2 (10.75 oz) cans of condensed cream of chicken soup
  • 1 onion, finely sliced
  • 2 (10 oz) packages of refrigerated biscuit dough, torn into pieces (I like Pilsbury of course)

Step One

Place the chicken, butter, soup and onion into the crock pot and fill with enough water to cover

Step Two

Cover and cook on high for 4-5 hours.  About 30 minutes before serving, place the torn biscuit dough into the slow cooker.  Cook until dough is no longer raw.

And that, my friends, is IT!  Trust me, this was one of the most delightful recipes I have ever tried.  It was pure comfort food and I couldn’t believe how the biscuit dough turned out as dumplings!  Unreal!  Give this a try and let me know what you think…this one is now a standby recipe for me on a cold day.  I suggest serving with something green and crunchy to add some texture on the side, like fresh green beans with garlic seasoning.

Yours-

The Domestic Diva in Training

Leave a Reply

